Heidi Ollman

  • Tutors students in groups
  • Tutors students individually

After graduating from a private high school, I attended college, totally unsure of my career path. I eventually settled on English because I was good at it and liked it (little did I know that I would LOVE it). After 5 years of impacted classes at Cal State Long Beach, I finally earned my BA in English Education (speech communication emphasis) from CSULB (where I excelled at grammar and literary analysis) and transitioned quickly to Azusa Pacific University to earn my MS credential and SS credential in English. From this hybrid internship credential program, I stepped into teaching middle school in Placentia, CA, and taught English Language Development and Literature, and after that one semester as a long term sub, I ended up taking another long term sub position at West Covina High School solely teaching ELD and essentially creating my own curriculum. That position became permanent and I was nominated for teacher of the year twice as well as becoming known as "The Game Queen" because I loved creating a fun learning environment. (I still do!) I later transitioned to Diamond Ranch High School in Pomona where I taught literature for 9th, 10th, and 11th grades for 2 years. After becoming a mom, I decided to focus on being just that and retired from teaching... or so I thought! After visiting a homeschool conference much to my chagrin, my attitude quickly changed and I became passionate about homeschooling and encouraging those that are debating the prospect as well as those that are in the thick of it! My children have never been enrolled in a brick and mortar school and I have homeschooled my three children from the start. Through many unexpected life experiences, changes and challenges, homeschooling my children really has been one of the greatest joys of my life. And with success! My oldest daughter graduated from homeschool in 2018 and now attends Grand Canyon University in Phoenix. My middle daughter graduated in 2020 and will be pursuing a career in beauty as well as leading worship locally. My son is currently in 8th grade and attends Western Christian PSP where I have been teaching literature classes for 2 years. I also conduct educational tours for all ages and classes for teens at Amy’s Farm in Ontario. I love teaching and it brings joy to my heart to see students grow, excel, and succeed in every area of their lives! I also love photography, traveling, finding hidden coffee shops and treasures on back roads, and spending time with friends!


Additional Information

Subject(s)
Lesson fees Hour rate: $65 per lesson
Half hour rate: $40 per lesson
Age Group

Availability

Monday: 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday: 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Thursday: 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM


REQUEST TUTORING

Classes Taught by Heidi Ollman

Reviews

There have been no reviews submitted yet.